The Early Years Foundation Stage

Since September 2000 the term Foundation Stage has been used to describe the phase of education from a child’s third birthday to the end of the reception year. This is a very important stage   as it prepares children for all their future learning and successes. Their early years’ experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support the development, care and learning needs of all children.

The revised, framework for the Foundation Stage was implemented during September 2012. There are 7 areas of learning and development, including three prime areas. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.