The Governing Body of St. Wilfrid’s RC Primary  & The Trustees of the St Margaret Clitherow Academy Trust

Mrs Jenny Melbourne – Foundation Governor – Chair of Governors

I have been a Foundation Governor since October 2014, and spent time on the Curriculum Committee for a year before joining the Finance and Staffing Committee. I have recently been appointed as Chair of Governors.

I have five children, all of whom have attended St Wilfrid’s school. My children have enjoyed and benefited from the warm, caring, Catholic ethos of the school and all the many opportunities and experiences they have had during their time here. I am keen to help ensure that all the children at St Wilfrid’s continue to not only receive an excellent education, but fulfil their potential and grow up to become caring, compassionate adult guided and shaped by our faith in Christ.

Mrs Sarah Kurdziel – Foundation Governor – Vice Chair of Governors

I joined the Governing Body in 2018 and enjoy the important role we play in the continued development and improvements of the school. In my role as a science technician in secondary school in York and former teacher I believe that I have experience that adds to the diversity of the team. I have a son who has passed through St. Wilfrid’s and chose to send my daughter here as well, confirming my continued faith in the school through the last 10 years. I prepare pupils each year to take their First Holy Communion supporting the Catholic ethos of the school and ensuring the children continue to develop their faith outside of school.

Mr Matthew Sherwood – Foundation Governor

Dr Phillip Morgan – Foundation Governor

Rev. Daniel Seward – Foundation Governor

Mrs Jane Conway – Headteacher

Mrs Helen Van Loo – Parent Governor

Mrs Laura Fannon – Parent Governor

I have very recently joined the governing body of St Wilfrid’s School as a parent governor. I have two children, both of whom currently attend the school.
As an experienced Primary School teacher myself, having taught all year groups from Nursery to Year 6, I have a solid understanding of the ways in which a school can work successfully and bring out the best in all children. I am passionate about children’s education in the richest and broadest sense of the word, including embracing the ways in which St. Wilfrid’s caring, Catholic ethos helps children to become responsible and compassionate young people.

Trustees – SMCCAT

St Wilfrid’s RC Primary is part of the St Margaret Clitherow Catholic Academy Trust (SMCCAT) Please click on the following link for trustee information.

Please see link below for further Governor information:

Governor meeting attendance 2020/21 academic year

P – Present

AC – Absent with consent

AN – Absent with no consent

R – Resigned

X – Not a Governor at that point

Full Governing Body  
Mrs J Conway   P P P P
Dr Phillip Morgan X X X P
Mr Andrew Thompson   X AC AC X
Fr Richard Duffield   P P P AC
Mrs Sarah Kurdziel   P P P P
Mr Daniel Woolfson (Vice Chair)   P P P P
Mr Matthew Sherwood   X X X X
Mr Richard Geoghegan   R R R R
Mrs Susan Yzquirerdo   P X X X
Mrs Marie Harrison   X X X P
Mr Chris Perry P X X X
Miss Helen Keith In attendance P P P P

Governing Body Structure:

  • Local Governing Body
  • Pay Committee

We have no declarations of interest for 2021/22

LGB Meeting Minutes




2020-07-08 StWilfrids_LGBMinsApproved

St Wilfrid’s RC Primary LGB Minutes 2020-11-26 Approved

St Wilfrid’s RC Primary LGB Minutes 2021-03-04 Approved

2021.05.27 St Wilfrids LGB minutes Approved

2021.07.01 St Wilfrid’s LGB minutes APPROVED

Please see attached link to SMCCAT governing body page :


Scroll to Top